Golden Kiwi & Blackberry Smoothie: aka Smoothie of the Day (& yesterday, it’s just that good)

January 19, 2007 at 6:36 pm | Posted in baby food, blackberry, golden kiwi, quick meal, smoothie, smoothie of the day | 11 Comments

smoothie1.jpg

This was the perfect quick, energizing lunch to share with my 9.5 month old baby. I am crazy about golden kiwi, in fact I think it’s my favorite fruit, having surpassed nectarines, cherries, and even berries. If you haven’t yet had the pleasure of trying them, the flavor brings to mind what it must feel like to eat sunshine. I know, I know- it’s a bit maudlin to say that, but seriously, that’s what I thought (and still do) when I first tried one. They don’t have the sour/ slightly bitter flavor of green kiwi, instead they are gently, not overly sweet and very refreshing.  And they are very, very good for you.

Makes one large serving (or a medium and small serving)

Ingredients

1/3 cup orange (or other) juice
2 heaping tbs plain yogurt
1 small handful almonds
1 ripe banana
1 peeled, thickly sliced golden kiwi
1 cup blackberries
ice- optional, if you like a really frozen drink

Combine all ingredients in a large glass suitable for an immersion blender or in a regular blender jar. Blend to combine. Enjoy!

smoothie2.jpg

 

11 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. You inspired me to make my own smoothie with a few alterations using what I had on hand. I used mixed berries (raspberries, strawberries, and blackberries), no kiwi, and no almonds (just finished those last night – darn it!!!). I did add about tbs of honey, 1/2 tbs of Splenda, and a few cubes of ice. Delicious!

  2. Thanks, T! This is such an energizer. Never fails. :)

  3. I’ve never even heard of a golden kiwi! Does it look different on the outside? I just bought some green kiwis yesterday…I LOVE kiwis :-)

  4. Nicole- They do look slightly different. They have more of an oblong circumference, than the round circumference of the green kiwi. And the skin color may be slightly different- maybe more of a gold/ tan. But they are very similar in appearance until you get to the inside. And if you love kiwi fruit, I’m pretty sure you’d love the golden variety. :)

  5. I’ve added two in-text links above to give a little more information about the fruit. The second one also has lots of recipes.

  6. Confession – I didn’t know kiwi came in anything but green :) But that smoothie sounds fab so I’ll have to keep my eyes peeled, for sure!

  7. The bananas looked great, a unused food in smoothies too often.

  8. I like the yellow better and may doble that banana count.

  9. I am a golden kiwi addict too! Although I still do eat the green ones too, I adore the yellow ones…and the smoothie sounds gorgeous, I never would have thought of adding almonds, will try this as soon as I get a new golden kiwi supply.

  10. Cool site, love the info.

  11. It’s very effortless to find out any matter on web as compared to textbooks, as I found this piece of writing
    at this web page.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com. | The Pool Theme.
Entries and comments feeds.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

